What everyone who will vote needs to know


Voting hours:

Voting will commence at 7am, as long as there are at least five registered voters, from that polling station, that are present at the polling station.

Voting will end at 4pm.

Once it clocks 4pm, all the people who will be in the queue, will be allowed to vote.

This (4pm) has been set, partly, to maximally use daytime to complete the tallying at the polling stations.

But those who would not be on the line by 4pm will not be allowed to vote.

What one needs to be allowed to vote?

A voter will have to present him or herself at the polling station where he or she is registered to vote.

He or she will be required to present voter identification documents, which will include one of the following: national identity card, voter identification slip or voters card.

In case a voter has none of the above, the presiding officers will assist such persons to check and confirm if their particulars are on the national voters register – which could take some time – before they are allowed to vote.

Biometric Voter Verification machine

Using biometric voter verification machine, the presiding officers will also authenticate the identities of those with national IDs or voter registration slips.  The machine images one’s fingerprints and tries to match them with those in the database.

Not allowed:

According to EC chairperson Badru Kiggundu, “The voter who comes to vote, as soon as he or she gets into the formation for voting, his phone must be off or in silence.

The voter, as he proceeds through the polling station, will not be allowed to operationalise or to be seen to be communicating using his phone. But you media, of course, you will be outside – with your cameras – the [voting] formation; you will not enter the polling station with your ‘guns’. Around the perimeter of the polling stations, you media it is okay.”

Also, voters should not carry pens to the polling booths. If they do, they should not use them.

If one reaches for a pen in their pocket, overzealous presiding officers or polling assistants might misconstrue it, thinking that one is reaching for pre–ticked ballot papers.

So the Electoral Commission has pens for public use.

There will be three ballot boxes: one for presidential candidates, another for directly elected parliamentary candidates and lastly for women representatives.

In case of complaints:

There will be an elections complaints desk at the EC head office in Kampala.

EC staff will man it. The officers will receive and handle any complaints that might arise in the course of the day. They could be reached on 0800 110 022, 0800 110 023, 0800 776 776 and 0800 778 778 toll free numbers.


It is only the Uganda Police Force that is in charge of providing security during the polling, according to the EC chairperson Badru Kiggundu

Declaration of results:

It is the presiding officers who will declare the final results at the polling stations.

They will declare the results of the presidential ballot, directly elected Members of Parliament and then the District Women Members of Parliament.

The results from the polling stations will be delivered to the Sub–counties, is the central collection point for all polling stations.

The tamper proof envelopes containing the election results from each polling station shall not be opened at the sub–county. They are for accountability only. They will be taken from the sub–counties to the offices of the district returning officers for tallying; after which the district returning officer will declare results. If anyone tampers with the envelopes along the way from the sub–county to the district, the colour of the seals will change. Therefore, the EC should reject results from such polling stations.

The returning officer will read out the results of the presidential elections from each polling station in their respective districts.

Afterward reading them out, they will transmit the districts results to the national tallying centre in Namboole in Kampala where they will be received by the chairperson of the EC.

The national tally centre will tally the results of all the districts and declare the elected president within 48 hours after the closure of the polls.

Access to the national tally will be regulated; invitees only.

This is because of space limitations.

Among others who will be there will be representatives of the presidential candidates, accredited journalists, international as well as local observers and, of course, EC staff.

Theinsider Uganda is a news publishing website. We are located at Suite G25 Metroplex Shopping mall, Naalya Kampala Uganda. info@theinsider.ug
Enter ad code here

Copyright © 2016 Theinsider Uganda. Unearthing the truth

To Top