Vipers sting KCCA in Uganda cup semis


Vipers Sports Club and Arua club, Onduparaka have drawn the first blood in the opening legs of the 2015/16 Uganda Cup semi-finals.

Vipers beat Kampala Capital City Authority 2-0 at Nakivubo Stadium.

Erisa Ssekisambu, fresh from Uganda Cranes duty in Botswana gave Vipers the lead with the second goal coming from the lanky teenager, Alfred Leku.

In the other semi-final, Entebbe were shocked at their own Bugonga stadium graveyard by the tournament revelation, Onduparaka.

Uganda U-20 striker Muhammed Shaban scored the winning goal at Bugonga stadium in Entebbe.

Entebbe finished the game with ten men after FIFA referee Dennis Batte red carded defender Muhammed Zziwa for a technical foul (last man offence) on the dangerous Shaban.

Onduparaka missed doubling the lead when Gadaffi Gadihno missed the attempt from 12 yards when Shaban was brought down.

The winner of the Uganda Cup qualifies to represent the country at the CAF Confederation Cup.

Onduparaka eliminated last year’s winners, SC Villa at the round of 32 after winning 5-4 on penalties when normal time ended goal-less.

The second legs of the semi finals shall be held on the 12th June 2016.

Onduparaka hosts Entebbe at the Greenlight stadium meanwhile, KCCA will travel to Buikwe to face Vipers.

This year’s final will be hosted by Kampala region at Nakivubo Stadium.

A charity cause has been attached to this year’s Uganda cup with generous people in the communities humbly requested to donate clothes, shoes, sandals, bags and any other item that can be resourceful to the rest of the people.

Collection centers are at FUFA House, Entebbe Bugonga playground, Buikwe, Green Light Stadium (Arua) and Nakivubo Stadium.

Over the years, the Uganda Cup final has rotated in the Northern, Western, Eastern and Kitara Regions.

Semi Final rules:

  • The Semi final round shall be played over two legs on home and away basis
  • The team at more goals at the end of the return leg shall be winner of the match.
  • If teams are tying by goals at the end of the return leg match, the away goals rule shall apply
  • If the return leg ends in a tie and the FIFA spot kicks shall be applied to determine the winner

Uganda Cup (formerly Kakungulu Cup) Winners since 1971:

1971 – Coffee F.C

1972-1975-Not Held

1976 – Gangama F.C

1977 – Simba F.C

1978 – Nsambya F.C

1979 – KCC F.C

1980 – KCC F.C

1981 – Coffee F.C

1982 – KCC F.C

1983 – SC Villa F.C

1984 – KCC F.C

1985 – Express F.C

1986 – SC Villa F.C

1987 – KCC F.C

1988 – SC Villa

1989 – SC Villa

1990 – KCC F.C

1991 – Express F.C

1992 – Express F.C

1993 – KCC F.C

1994 – Express F.C

1995 – Express F.C

1996 – UEB S.C

1997 – Express F.C

1998 – SC Villa

1999 – Mbale Heroes S.C

2000 – SC Villa

2001 – Express F.C

2002 – SC Villa

2003 – Express F.C

2004 – KCC F.C

2005 – URA F.C

2006 – Express F.C

2007 – Express F.C

2008 – Victors S.C

2009 – SC Villa

2010 – Victors S.C

2011 – Simba S.C

2012 – URA F.C

2013 – Sports Club Victoria University

2014 – URA F.C

2015 – SC Villa Jogoo


Theinsider Uganda is a news publishing website. We are located at Suite G25 Metroplex Shopping mall, Naalya Kampala Uganda.
Enter ad code here

Copyright © 2016 Theinsider Uganda. Unearthing the truth

To Top