URA app secures ACIA awards nomination


Uganda Revenue Authority [URA] has been nominated for a Special Award given to government ministries, departments and agencies for their excellence in offering e-government services to the citizens.

In February this year, URA Commissioner General, Ms Doris Akol, launched the first ever mobile application dubbed URAapp at the headquarters in Nakawa.

The app designed by URA’s staff, helps search and verify taxpayers’ details.

It also helps clients search for their motor vehicle details without travelling all the way to the headquarters.

Accordion to Akol, the app aids tax calculators, acts as a URA staff information hub and helps clients locate their tax offices.

On Tuesday afternoon, the authority said it the #AskURA mobile app had earned them a nomination in the ACIA 2016 Awards in the best e-government service organisation category.

The category celebrates organisations that have been able to leverage ICT to improve their service delivery.

“We are counting on your support. You can vote using this link We are also counting on your support on social media. Warm regards,” the authority said.

Monday marked the beginning of the voting exercise to determine the winner of ACIA 2016 Special Award category.
This award aims to recognise the Government of Uganda’s development efforts, especially in the promotion of e-Government.

It’s being contested for by 12 Government Ministries, Departments and Agencies (MDAs) have submitted entries to demonstrate their ICT prowess in offering e-government services to Ugandans.

These MDAs are Education Service Commission (ESC), Inspectorate of Government (IGG), Ministry of Education, Science, Technology and Sports (MoESTS), Ministry of Energy and Mineral Development (MoEMD) and Ministry of Finance, Planning and Economic Development (MoFPED).

Others are the Ministry of Lands, Housing and Urban Development (MoLHUD), National Medical Stores (NMS), National Social Security Fund (NSSF), National Water and Sewerage Corporation (NWSC), Uganda Revenue Authority (URA) and Uganda Wildlife Authority (UWA).

The five-day exercise ends on April 29, 2016.
The winner and runners up will be announced during the ACIA 2016 Awards Gala night that will take place at Serena Conference Centre on May 20, 2016.

Overall, there are six major award categories for ACIA 2016. The other five award categories are: Young Innovators, Business Excellence, Service Excellence, ICT for Development, and Digital Content.
These winners and runners up of these five categories shall be determined by a panel of eminent and independent judges.

Theinsider Uganda is a news publishing website. We are located at Suite G25 Metroplex Shopping mall, Naalya Kampala Uganda.
Enter ad code here

Copyright © 2016 Theinsider Uganda. Unearthing the truth

To Top