East Africa

Uhuru Kenyatta reintroducing detention without trial


Cord coalition has accused the government of introducing system of detention without trial witnessed in the days of the old constitution.

Co-principals Moses Wetangula and Kalonzo Musyoka said it was wrong for the police to arrest and detain MPs without being tried.

Speaking at the funeral of the late Eliud Ngala Mwendwa in Kitui Central on Saturday, the two condemned the government for using old trickster ways to intimidate those who speak the truth against the Jubilee administration.

The duo further claimed last weeks move to detain MPs amounted to intimidation and was tantamount to the reintroduction of detention without trial and denial of bail or bond.

This follows the recent arrest of seven members of Parliament and one senator who were accused of incitement and hate speech.

The eight include Machakos Senator Johnson Muthama, MP’s Moses Kuria (Gatundu South), Ferdinand Waititu (Kabete), Timothy Bosire (Kitutu Masaba) and Kimani Ngunjiri (Bahati).

Others included Junet Mohammed of Suna East, women reps Florence Mutua (Busia) and Kilifi’s Aisha Jumwa.

The eight were arrested on Tuesday June 14, 2016 and detained at Muthaiga and Pangani police cells for three days.

They however denied the charges against them on Friday when they were arraigned at Milimani Law Courts before they were released on cash bail.

The Star.

Theinsider Uganda is a news publishing website. We are located at Suite G25 Metroplex Shopping mall, Naalya Kampala Uganda. info@theinsider.ug
Enter ad code here

Copyright © 2016 Theinsider Uganda. Unearthing the truth

To Top