News In Pictures

Tusiime finally floors Bitekyerezo as Mbarara disowns incumbents


Tusiime [L] the new MP Mbarara NRM flag bearer giving awards to Mbarara DJs

The youthful Micheal Tusiime, is the new Mbarara Municipality Member of Parliament NRM flag bearer after defeating incumbent, Medard Bitekyerezo.

Tusiime picked 12,319 votes followed by Dr. Bitekyerezo- with 10,951 votes and lastly Edwin Akoragye with 4,366 votes.

Tusiime stood against Bitekyerezo in the 2011 general elections but was allegedly rigged out and denied the seat that should have been his.

In September 2010, Police deployed heavily in Mbarara Municipality after the NRM party poll results were declared.

Dr. Medard Bitekyerezo was declared the NRM flag-bearer for the Mbarara MP seat then.

He got 6,162 votes and Tusiime Michael got 6,095.

James Tweheyo, in third position, got 2,542 votes.


Dr Medard Bitekyerezo,

Supporters of Tusiime Michael camped day and night at the NRM offices in Kakyeka for three days demanding results to be announced all in vain.

Tusiime at last wins

Last night, Tusiime was announced the winner of the 2015 NRM primaries that registered a few cases of ballot stuffing leading to arrests.

Two men; Frank Mugisha and a one Mwebesa, were arrested from Rwarire-Nyakayojo division in Mbararara Municipality and detained at Mbarara police station.

They were found ticking ballots in favour of Wilson Tumwine, who lost to Radio West presenter, Robert Kakyebezi and Michael Tusiime.



They also had posters of the two candidates [Tumwine and Tusiime], according to New Vision.

Incumbents lose

Mbarara incumbent district woman MP Emma Boona lost to Rosette Kajungu Mutambi, a veteran journalist and the director of HEPS Uganda.


Emma Boona


According to the NRM registrar Mbarara district, Yoramu Kacumita, Emma Boona got 13,409 votes while her rival, Kajungu picked 21,919 votes.

In Rwapara, loose-tongued incumbent Vincent Mujuni Kyamadidi was overwhelmed by Charles Ngabirano who got 20,641 votes compared to Kyamadidi’s 6,625 votes.



The incumbent Mbarara LC V Chairman, Deus Tumusime, lost to Capt. J.B Bamuturaki.
In Kashari North, Wilberforce Yaguma Rutashokwa, retained his seat with 20, 443votes, after defeating former state minister for urban development, Urban Tibamanya.

In Kashari South, Nathan Itungo, the Mbarara district NRM party vice-chairperson was declared NRM party flagbearer after beating Dr. Aggrey Kyobuguzi and Ntungamo RDC Fred Bamwine.

Theinsider Uganda is a news publishing website. We are located at Suite G25 Metroplex Shopping mall, Naalya Kampala Uganda.
Enter ad code here

Copyright © 2016 Theinsider Uganda. Unearthing the truth

To Top