Tired NRM fans set party offices on fire


The intrigue, voter bribery, violence and rigging in the ruling party saw NRM offices in Sembabule district burned down and property worth millions destroyed.

In Bundibugyo, a section of NRM supporters returned party cards accusing the Registrar of altering election results.

In Masaka, supporters of Mesarch Ssebula, a former contestant for the Kyanamukaka sub county LC 3 chairperson NRM party ticket turned chaotic after their candidate lost to Mathias Ssekiwala.

Ssebula’s supporters in anger burnt party cards and urinated on President Yoweri Museveni’s yellow T-shirts.

In the same district, NRM withheld election results after some of the winners were suspected to be loyal to presidential aspirant, Amama Mbabazi.

In Lwengo town council, the District boss, George Mutabazi, allegedly fled with ballot boxes in the ruling party’s chaotic polls.

In Sembabule, angry NRM supporters set their party office on fire over disputed party elections.

All records were reportedly destroyed.

In Luweero, dozens claiming to be party members were turned away on Monday, ahead of primary elections for local council III chairperson, municipal and town council flag bearers because their names were not in the register.

According to The Observer, some of the affected voters were registered at Kavule, Kasana Health Center IV, Luweero Islamic primary school, Lumu, Kiwogozi and Mack College polling stations in Luweero town council.

David Kamugisha, the Luweero district NRM party registrar, is quoted by the newspaper saying many names were accidently deleted from the register during the printing exercise.

In Kampala Central, supporters of Salim Uhuru, an aspirant for the Kampala Central LC-III chair, stormed the party EC offices on Kyadondo road and demanded a recount of the votes in the Monday elections.

In that election, Kibedi Nsegumire beat Uhuru to become the NRM flag-bearer for Kampala Central division.

The recount was made today, Wednesday by Tanga Odoi, the NRM EC boss.

So far, provisional results indicate that Muhammad Kibedi is leading with 3,213 votes while Uhuru is trailing respectfully with 2,190 votes.

Theinsider Uganda is a news publishing website. We are located at Suite G25 Metroplex Shopping mall, Naalya Kampala Uganda.
Enter ad code here

Copyright © 2016 Theinsider Uganda. Unearthing the truth

To Top