Security tight as MPs take oath


Security has been beefed up at Parliament ahead of today’s 10th Parliament MPs swearing in ceremony.

Chris Obore, the Parliament Director of Communications, says 145 out of 446 legislators will be sworn in today, Monday.

The swearing in ceremony will take three days; 16th, 17th and 18th May 2016 at the South Wing of Parliament House.

A notice from the Clerk to Parliament, Jane Kibirige states that the Members of Parliament Elect will swear in as stipulated in the Constitution before they start their duties.

“As a fulfilment of Clauses 4 and 5 of Article 81 of the Constitution, Members of Parliament Elect are expected to take and subscribe to the Oath of Allegiance and Oath of Members of Parliament,” she said.

The swearing-in event is expected to start at 8.30am on each of the gazetted days.

The Clerk however, notes that all the MPs-Elect will have to follow the laid down procedures.

“All MPs-Elect are informed that invitation cards, car stickers and other documentation will be collected from Parliament starting on Wednesday 11th to Friday 13th May 2016,” the notice from the Clerk reads.

Kibirige adds that due to the limited space, each Member will be accompanied by only five people with parking space availed for one vehicle.

“Access to Parliament House will be through the main entrance on Parliamentary Avenue,” Kibirige said.

Theinsider Uganda is a news publishing website. We are located at Suite G25 Metroplex Shopping mall, Naalya Kampala Uganda.
Enter ad code here

Copyright © 2016 Theinsider Uganda. Unearthing the truth

To Top