East Africa

Sarah Kagingo, NRM losers for EALA




Sarah Kagingo, a PR & Communications guru, is among those seeking 2017 East African Legislative Assembly (EALA) seats.

In 1997, Kagingo became the second female Guild President (after Norah Njuba) at Makerere University.

“I was only 14 and at Trinity College Nabbingo when I was inspired into leadership by the late UPDF officer Brig. Noble Mayombo,” she told The Observer in 2012 when she first gave a shot at EALA.

Her priority would be on agriculture with the hope of making Uganda the food basket for the region.

She was then working as a research and development manager for an agricultural association, Akiba.

Kagingo, who does President Yoweri Museveni’s social media diplomacy is still interest in becoming Uganda’s MP in the 2017 race.

In 2012, Kagingo  unlike current representatives; Margret Nantongo Zziwa, Dora Byamukama, Benard Mulengani, Mike Sebalu, NusuraTiperu, and Dan Kidega, never went through.

Kagingo was born in 1978 in Ntungamo District.

In 2000, she worked as a public relations officer for Gen Salim Saleh’s Divinity Union Ltd.

She was his Special Duties Assistant in 2007.

In 2013, President Yoweri Museveni as his Special Communications Assistant, informally appointed Kagingo.

Other speculated hopefuls in the EALA 2017 race include;

Phillip Mugume Baitwa, a former Uganda Christian University Guild President and Ntungamo district NRM youth league treasurer.

Benjamin Katana, a youth leader, Davis Akampurira (NRM National Task force & former Western Youth MP hopeful), Kassim Kamugisha (NRM National Task Force & former Chairman NRM Youth League hopeful), David Kabanda (former NYC chairperson hopeful & Personal Assistant to Foreign Affairs Minister Sam Kuteesa).

Other are; Dennis Namara (NRM Task force and former Buyaga West MP hopeful), Milton Muwuma (outgoing Kigulu South MP), Maj. John Kazoora (2012 EALA contestant & former Kashari MP), Augustine Ruzindana (2012 contestant & former IGG & former Ruhaama MP) and Allan Kajik (former RCC Kampala central & husband to Youth Minister Evelyn Anite).

A social media list whose authenticity we cannot verify also claims ruling party and opposition bigwigs are also eying EALA slots.

The list includes; Alice Alaso Asianut (former FDC secretary general & outgoing Serere Woman MP), Maj. Gen Jim Muhwezi (information minister & outgoing Rujumbura MP), Maj. Gen Kahinda Otafiire (Justice Minister & outgoing Ruhinda MP), Freddie Ruhindi (Attorney General & outgoing Nakawa MP), Mike Mukula (former Soroti Municipality MP), Wafula Oguttu (outgoing Leader of Opposition), Kabakumba Masiko (former Information Minister & outgoing Bujenje county MP), Kwame Rugunda (2012 contestant & son to Premier Rugunda), Fred Mukasa Mbidde (current EALA MP), Susan Nakawuki (current EALA MP), Kato Rugasira (Law student and Nakaseke north MP hopeful), among others.

Attachments area

Preview attachment Kagingo.jpg



Theinsider Uganda is a news publishing website. We are located at Suite G25 Metroplex Shopping mall, Naalya Kampala Uganda. info@theinsider.ug
Enter ad code here

Copyright © 2016 Theinsider Uganda. Unearthing the truth

To Top