Rwanda honours anti-genocide heroes


Rwanda Commemorates 21st Anniversary of the Genocide against Tutsi


The official Kwibuka21 Commemoration Week (7-13 April) comes to a close today with a ceremony at the Rebero Genocide Memorial.

Over 14,000 victims of the Genocide against the Tutsi are buried there, including 12 politicians who were killed for standing against the genocidal government in 1994.

The official mourning period, known as Icyunamo, continues until 4 July 2014 – Liberation Day.

The politicians buried at Rebero are: Landouard Ndasingwa (Liberal Party), Charles Kayiranga (Liberal Party), Jean de la Croix Rutaremara (Liberal Party), Augustine Rwayitare (Liberal Party), Aloys Niyoyita (Liberal Party), Vanantie Kabageni (Liberal Party), Andre Kamenya (Liberal Party), Frederic Nzamurambaho (PSD President and Agriculture Minister), Felicien Ngango (PSD), Jean Pierre Mushimiyimana (PSD) and Faustin Rucogoza (MDR).

The former President of the Constitutional Court Joseph Kavaruganda is also buried at the memorial.

Former Prime Minister, Agathe Uwilingiyimana, is buried at the National Heroes Cemetery and will also be honoured today.

Special guests include the President of the Rwandan Senate, Bernard Makuza, the Minister of Sports and Culture, Julienne Uwacu, the President of Ibuka, Jean Pierre Dusingizemungu, the Executive Secretary of CNLG, Jean Damascene Bizimana, and the Executive Secretary of the National Forum of Political Organisations.

The Dean of the Diplomatic Corps will also attend and lay a wreath.

Theinsider Uganda is a news publishing website. We are located at Suite G25 Metroplex Shopping mall, Naalya Kampala Uganda.
Enter ad code here

Copyright © 2016 Theinsider Uganda. Unearthing the truth

To Top