Rebel MP Niwagaba returns on independent ticket


Ndorwa East Member of parliament Winfred Niwagab


National Resistance Movement party leaders in Ndorwa East have resolved to back their area Member of Parliament Wilfred Niwagaba to contest on an independent ticket in the 2016 polls.

Niwagaba is one of the four NRM legislators who were expelled from the party in 2013 for alleged indiscipline.

The others are Muhammad Nsereko, the Kampala Central MP, Theodore Ssekikubo, Lwemiyaga County and Buyaga County legislator Barnabas Tinkasimiire.

Shortly after kicking out the legislators from the party, the NRM leadership asked the speaker Rebecca Kadaga to expel them from parliament in vain.

The NRM leadership petitioned the Constitutional Court to compel the speaker to kick out the legislators. Four of the five judges of the Constitutional Court ruled to kick out the legislator pending the disposal of their main application challenging their expulsion from the party.

However, the MPs petitioned the Supreme Court challenging the ruling.

The Supreme Court reinstated the legislators pending the hearing of their main application.

As the legislators await the Supreme Court ruling, National Resistance Movement party leaders in Ndorwa East are not leaving anything to chance.

The leaders passed a resolution in a meeting at Kyanamira Sub County on Friday to back the expelled legislator to contest on an independent ticket.

They include councilor’s right from the parish, Sub County to the district levels and LC III chairperson of Maziba,¬†Kaharo, Kyanamira and Buhara sub counties.

Some of the leaders in support of the resolution are Annette Kabagambe, the LC V female Representative of Buhara and Kyanamira sub counties, her counterpart Flavia Kanagizi, the Representative of Kaharo and Maziba sub counties, Emannuel Rugyendo, the LCV Councilor Kyanamira sub county, Tumwine Gracious Kabeth, the LCV Councilor Kaharo sub county and his Buhara sub county counterpart Johnson Baguma among others.

The leaders argued that despite expelling their legislator, the party leadership has never bothered to explain to them why their MP was kicked out of the party.

Speaking at the meeting, Dastun Muhereza, the LC III chairperson Kaharo Sub County noted that they cannot abandon the MP since he has closely been working with him.

Johnson Baguma, the LCV Councilor Buhara Sub County said the decision by the legislator to contest as an independent Candidate will ensure unity before and after the polls.

Flavia Kanagizi, the Kaharo and Maziba sub county LC V Female councilor said it was unfortunate for the party leadership to expel their legislator basing on rumors.

She says their legislators is at the forefront of fighting corruption adding that they cannot sit back and watch as the corrupt take over.

Wilfred Niwagaba, the Ndorwa East MP says he will respect the resolution taken by the leaders saying it is an indication that they still have hope in him.

He says the resolution makes it clear for the NRM party leadership that expelling members is not a solution to party disagreements.


Theinsider Uganda is a news publishing website. We are located at Suite G25 Metroplex Shopping mall, Naalya Kampala Uganda.
Enter ad code here

Copyright © 2016 Theinsider Uganda. Unearthing the truth

To Top