Parliament gets four more Women MPs


Four new women legislators have today taken their oaths and joined the 10th Parliament.

The four: Catherine Lamwaka (Omoro District), Noeline Kisembo Basemera (Kibaale District), Janepher Mbabazi Kyomuhendo (Kagadi District) and Prossy Akampulira Mbabazi (Rubanda District) represent new districts created towards the end of the 9th Parliament, but which came into effect on 1 July 2016.

Elections in the districts were not held in February 2016 but the Electoral Commission conducted them on 29 August 2016.

The new members bring the total number of legislators in the 10th Parliament to 431; of which 144 are female. 298 belong to the National Resistance Movement (NRMO) the party in government.

The Deputy Speaker of Parliament, Rt. Hon. Jacob Oulanyah welcomed the legislators and presented them with a copy of the Constitution and Parliament’s Rules of Procedure.

“All laws you pass in Parliament must be in line with the Constitution otherwise the law will not be proper,” said Hon. Oulanyah.

Kasilo County MP, Hon. Elijah Okupa (FDC) congratulated the new legislators and appealed to them to work with their colleagues in the House.

“We are one in the House when we are performing our duties,” said Hon. Okupa adding that, “You will be expected to work together in the House, committees and other foras for the benefit of Uganda.”

The Government Chief Whip, Hon. Ruth Nankabirwa, told the legislators that she would be charged with guiding and whipping them in Parliamentary duties.

The swearing-in ceremony was spiced with ululations and shouts of joy from the legislators’ supporters, who were seated in the strangers’ gallery.

Theinsider Uganda is a news publishing website. We are located at Suite G25 Metroplex Shopping mall, Naalya Kampala Uganda. info@theinsider.ug
Enter ad code here

Copyright © 2016 Theinsider Uganda. Unearthing the truth

To Top