NRM to expel loser ministers who run as independents


Lumumba at Kyadondo preparing to address press

The ruling party, NRM, has threatened to expel all members who has lost the primaries and decided to run as independent candidates in 2016 general elections.

“Whoever is planning to go as an independent will cease to be a member of NRM,” the party Secretary General, Kasule Lumumba, announced Thursday afternoon while addressing press at the headquarters in Kyadondo.

Provisional results so far indicate that about 50% of the ruling party ministers lost their parliamentary seats.

Ministers lose miserably

The most interesting of all cases was that of Justice and Constitutional Affairs minister, Kahinda Otafiire, who was defeated by a Luzira inmate, Capt Donosio Kahonda for Ruhinda county seat.

Primary Health Care minister Sarah Opendi lost the NRM flag for the Tororo woman MP.

Prof Tarsis Kabwegyere, the minister for general duties in the office of the prime minister, lost to Raphael Magyezi in Igara West constituency.

Education minister, Jessica Alupo, lost to Viola Akurut for the Katakwi district MP seat.

Lands minister Daudi Migereko lost to pastor Nelson Lufafa the Butembe county seat.

Energy minister Irene Muloni lost the Bulambuli district Woman seat.

Asuman Kiyingi, the state minister for works, lost to Henry Morris Kibalya in Bugabula South.

Vincent Nyanzi, the state minister in the office of vice president lost Busujju county seat.

Kamanda Bataringaya, the state for labour and industrial relations, lost Bwamba county.

Amongin Aporu, the state minister for Teso Affairs lost Kumi Woman MP seat.

Sulaiman Madada, the state minister for the elderly and disabled lost Bbaale county flag.

Sezi Mbaguta, the State minister for public service, lost the Rukungiri Woman MP).

Nyombi Tembo, the state minister for ICT, was defeated by a former police spokesperson, Simeo Nsubuga, Kassanda county.

Worse still, former ministers also lost including; former primary health care minister James Kakooza, Kabakumba Masiko, former information and presidency minister, Kiddu Makubuya, former minister in the office of the prime minister, Syda Bbumba, former finance, Labour, gender minister, Kirunda Kivejinja, former third deputy premier, former attorney general, Peter Nyombi and former state minister for local government, Godfrey Ahabwe Pereza.

Opendi goes independent

Opendi lost to Ayo Jacinta who polled 44,441 against 42,718 votes in the Tororo District Woman Member of Parliament.

Daily Monitor reports that the primary health care minister is contesting the election outcomes and has threatened to petition to have the results nullified.

She claims the NRM electoral commission did not follow the alphabetical order when placing candidates on the ballot papers, something that cost her votes.

She says her name should have appeared number one because she had told voters to tick number one.

Opendi has petitioned the party threatening to go independent if her grievances are not attended to.

Lumumba says losers who stand as independents automatically leave NRM

The party SG Lumumba warned those who lost NRM Primaries and plan to go as independents, to do it at their own risk. –

“If you do, you cease being a member of the party,” she told press.

She said elections were not about resources, otherwise the richest people would be in parliament.

“We have a party code of conduct (that party members must follow),” she reiterated an earlier warning against independents.

She urged all those who lost the primaries to send in their petitions and grievances to the new committee that has been set up at the secretariat.

Theinsider Uganda is a news publishing website. We are located at Suite G25 Metroplex Shopping mall, Naalya Kampala Uganda.
Enter ad code here

Copyright © 2016 Theinsider Uganda. Unearthing the truth

To Top