New ministers take oath next week

The Appointments Committee of Parliament which vetted presidential appointees for various ministerial positions has three days to report to the president.

By next week, the approved ministers are expected to be sworn in so they can commence their duties.

The Committee commenced vetting the nominees on Tuesday 14th June 2016 and completed the process on Thursday 16th June 2016.

The Appointments Committee, which is chaired by the Speaker of Parliament, Rt. Hon. Rebecca Kadaga, reviewed credentials of 80 out of the 81 cabinet nominees.

On its first day, the Committee vetted; Hon. Kirunda Kivejinja (2nd Deputy Premier), Janet Kataaha Museveni (Education), Muruli Mukasa (Public Service), Amelia Kyambadde (Trade, Industry and Cooperatives), Jeje Odongo (Internal Affairs), Vincent Ssempijja Bamulangaki (Agriculture, Animal Industry and Fisheries), Mathias Kasaija (Finance), Sam Kutesa (Foreign Affairs), Dr. Aceng Jane (Health), Eng. Monica Ntege Azuba (Works and Transport), Sam Cheptoris (Water and Environment), William Byaruhanga (Attorney General), Frank Tumwebaze (Information, ICT and Communication), Ruth Nankabirwa Sentamu (Government Chief Whip), Simon D’Ujanga (State for Energy) and David Bahati (State for Planning).

On its second day, the Committee vetted Hon. Adolf Mwesige (Defence and Veteran Affairs), Tom Butime (Local Government), John Byabagambi (Karamoja Affairs), Irene Muloni (Energy and Minerals), Dr. Elioda Tumwesigye (Science, Technology and Innovation), Mary Karooro Okurut (General Duties/Office of the Prime Minister), Hillary Onek (Minister of Disaster Preparedness and Refugees), Prof. Ephraim Kamuntu (Tourism, Wildlife and Antiquities), Esther Mbayo Mbulakubuza (Presidency), Lt. Gen. Henry Tumukunde (Security), Hajji Abdu Nadduli (Minister without Portfolio), Betty Kamya (Kampala Capital City Authority), and Janat Mukwaya (Gender, Labour and Social Development).

Also vetted on Wednesday were State Ministers including; Obiga Kania (Internal Affairs), Kasirivu Baltazar Atwooki (Economic Monitoring), Simon Lokodo (Ethics and Integrity), Alex Onzima (Vice President’s Office), Adrian Tibaleka (Elderly and Disability), Grace Kwiyucwiny (Northern Uganda), Moses Kizige (Karamoja), Dennis Ssozi Galabuzi (Luweero Triangle), Florence Nakiwala Kiyingi (Youth and Children Affairs), Ernest Kiiza (Bunyoro Affairs), David Karugaba (Public Service), Julius Maganda Wandera (East African Affairs), Christopher Kibanzanga (Agriculture), Joy Kabatsi (Animal Industry), Col. Engola Okello (Defence), Major Bright Rwamirama (Veteran Affairs), and Herbert Kabafunzaki (Labour, Employment and Industrial Relations).

On the third day, the committee vetted Honourable Betty Amongi (Lands, Housing and Urban Development), Maj. Gen. Kahinda Otafiire (Justice and Constitutional Affairs), Dr John Chrysostom Muyingo (Higher Education), Rosemary Nansubuga Seninde (Primary Education), Charles Bakabulindi (Sports), Peter Lokeris Aimat (Minerals), Gabriel Gadison Aridru Ajedra (Finance – General Duties), Evelyn Anite (Privatisation and Investment), Haruna Kasolo Kyeyune (Micro-Finance), Aggrey Bagiire (Transport), Ismael Orot (Works), Ronald Kibuule (Water), Mary Kitutu (Environment), Dr. Chris Baryomunsi (Housing), Isaac Musumba (Urban Development), Persis Namuganza (Lands), Sarah Opendi Ochieng (Health – General), Dr. Joyce Moriku (Primary Health Care), Mwesigwa Rukutana (Deputy Attorney General), Michael Kafabusa Werikhe (Trade), Harriet Ntabazi (Industry), Frederick Gume Ngobi (Cooperatives), Benny Namugwanya (Kampala Capital City Authority), Oryem Okello (International Affairs), Dr. Philemon Mateke (Regional Affairs), Jennifer Namuyangu (Local Government), Godfrey Kiwanda (Tourism), Aida Erios Nantaba (ICT and Communications), Madame Mutuuzo Peace, (Gender and Culture), Musa Francis Ecweru (Relief and Disaster Preparedness), Agnes Akiror (Teso Affairs), and Ruth Achieng (Fisheries).

The Committee is mandated to approve on behalf of Parliament, the appointment of persons nominated for appointment by the President under the Constitution or any other appointment required to be approved by Parliament under any law.

President Museveni appointed the Ministers on Monday 6th June 2016.

The Parliament thereafter met to approve the appointment of the Vice President, Hon. Edward Ssekandi and the Prime Minister, Rt. Hon. Dr. Ruhankana Rugunda on 8th and 14th June 2016 respectively.

The increase in Ministers follows Parliament’s approval of the motion to increase the number of members of the Cabinet on Tuesday 14th June 2016.

Theinsider Uganda is a news publishing website. We are located at Suite G25 Metroplex Shopping mall, Naalya Kampala Uganda. info@theinsider.ug
Enter ad code here

Copyright © 2016 Theinsider Uganda. Unearthing the truth

To Top