Near fist fight as NRM grabs Buganda caucus seats


Buganda Attorney General David Mpanga officially opens the Buganda caucus retreat

It nearly came to a fist fight Friday as Buganda Members of Parliament bickered over unclear parliamentary elections at Rider Hotel in Mukono.

The tragic-comedy was staged by Higher Education minister, Dr John Chrysestom Muyingo, who suggested that Theodore Ssekikubo (Lwemiyaga) and Johnson Muyanja Senyonga (Mukono South) share the post of chairperson.

The suggestion did not go well with members although Muyingo explained that each would serve two and a half years of the five-year term.

In a scuffle that saw some journalists reportedly beaten up, legislators exchanged verbal insults and almost gripped each other’s necks.

Muyanja was seen brewing a fist fight with Moses Kasibante (Rubaga North) and the two nearly exchanged blows.

It was MP Muwanga Kivumbi (Butambala) who worsened the already tense situation by reportedly slapping Radio Simba reporter, Ssematimba Wegire.

NRM wins the juicy posts

When the scuffle subsided, the election was finally held and the ruling National Resistance Movement (NRM) won eight of the 10 executive committee slots in the Parliamentary Buganda Caucus.

Johnson Muyanja Ssenyonga, the Mukono South MP [40 votes], was elected as the caucus chairperson after defeating Theodore Ssekikubo, the Lwemiyaga county MP who got 17 votes.

Kabula county MP James Kakooza stood down during nominations in favour of Ssekikubo while Mukono Municipality MP Betty Nambooze abandoned the race due to health complications.

Mpigi district woman MP Sarah Nakawunde was elected vice chairperson.

Bukoto South MP Florence Namayanja was elected caucus secretary.

Kasanda North legislator Simeo Nsubuga was elected as publicity.

David Lukyamuzi Kalwanga went through unopposed as treasurer.

Masaka district woman representative, Babirye Kabanda became the secretary welfare.

Amos Lugoolobi went through for external affairs while Kato Lubwama, the Rubaga south MP, sailed through as secretary cultural affairs.

Haruna Kasolo, the state minister for microfinance [31 votes] defeated Idah Nantaba, the state minister for Information, Communication and Technology [26 votes] to grab the secretary cabinet affairs slot.

Buganda caucus is the largest grouping of MPs in the 10th parliament from Buganda region having over 100 members of the over 400 member August House.

Theinsider Uganda is a news publishing website. We are located at Suite G25 Metroplex Shopping mall, Naalya Kampala Uganda. info@theinsider.ug
Enter ad code here

Copyright © 2016 Theinsider Uganda. Unearthing the truth

To Top