News In Pictures

Museveni, Mugabe, Uhuru, Kagame, Zuma at Magufuli inauguration  


Museveni and Kikwete in September 2015


President Yoweri Kaguta Museveni has arrived in Dar es Salaam for the on-going swearing in ceremony of the newly elected Tanzanian President, John Pombe Magufuli.

Present at the Thursday inauguration ceremony are; African Union chairman, Zimbabwean President Robert Mugabe, Rwanda President Pual Kagame, Kenya President Uhuru Kenyatta, and South African President, Jacob Zuma.



Congo president Joseph Kabila, Filipe Nyusi of Mozambique and Zambia’s Edgar Lungu, are also expected in Dar for the ceremony.

Magufuli won Tanzania’s October presidential elections to give Chama Cha Mapinduzi (CCM) party a victory and extended stay in power.

He beat the opposition Chadema candidate and former Prime Minister, Edward Lowassa, in an election that was passed as questionable.



Magufuli is being sworn in at a stadium in Dar es Salaam, with celebrations kicking off with a military parade.

Samia Suluhu Hassan, who comes from Zanzibar, will become Tanzania’s first ever female vice president.

However, Zanzibar people are not happy with the developments following the cancellation for their election won by the opposition.



Zanzibar’s electoral commission ruled last week that the October 25 vote on the islands — where the 500,000 registered voters also cast ballots for Tanzania’s national president — must be carried out again, citing “violations” of electoral law.

The annulment came after a key candidate, Seif Sharif Hamad of the opposition Civic United Front (CUF), declared himself the winner before the results were officially announced.



Meanwhile in Tanzania, outgoing President Jakaya Kikwete has declared today a public holiday.

“The decision is aimed at making all Tanzanians participate fully in the ceremony, where Kikwete will be stepping down and Magufuli being sworn-in as the country’s fifth president,” presidential chief secretary Ombeni Sefue.

Three of Tanzania’s four former presidents witnessed today’s inauguration: Jakaya Kikwete,  Benjamin Mkapa and Ali Hassan Mwinyi.

Theinsider Uganda is a news publishing website. We are located at Suite G25 Metroplex Shopping mall, Naalya Kampala Uganda.
Enter ad code here

Copyright © 2016 Theinsider Uganda. Unearthing the truth

To Top