Museveni awards Cranes 1978 special team


President Museveni awarding some of the players of the 1978 team

The 1978 Uganda Cranes team has been honoured with Golden Jubilee medals as a token of appreciation for taking Uganda to the finals of the Africa Cup of Nations.

The players who featured on that special team were among the 561 people who were awarded medals at the 54th Independence anniversary celebrations presided over by President Yoweri Museveni in Luuka district over the weekend.

Most of the members of this team are long dead but not entirely forgotten.

The team took Uganda to the finals of the Africa Cup of Nations before losing 2-0 to hosts Ghana in the final game of the tournament.

It would take Uganda 39 years before the national team qualified for the 2017 tournament to be held in Gabon.

The recipients are:

This squad is incomplete. Please help to improve it, or discuss the issue on the talk page. (June 2007)

Coach: Peter Okee


Museveni with some of the members in a group photo



GK    Paul Ssali           Simba FC

GK    Jamil Kasirye                              KCC

GK    Hussein Matovu                           KCC

DF     Mike Diku= {{{age}}}

DF     Jimmy Kirunda    KCC

DF     Meddie Lubega

DF     Tom Lwanga                               KCC

DF     Rashid Mudin                              KCC

MF    Jimmy Muguwa

DF     Ashe Mukasa                              KCC

DF     Sam Musenze                             KCC

DF     Eddie Ssemwanga

MF    Timothy Ayiekoh                         KCC

MF    Mike Kiganda

MF    Godfrey Kisitu                             Simba FC

FW    Barnabas Mwesiga                       Nsambya Kampala

MF    Abdulla Nasur

MF    Moses Nsereko                            KCC

MF    Edward Semwanga

FW    Fred Isabirye

FW    Phillip Omondi                     KCC

FW    Polly Ouma                         Simba FC

FW    Moses Sentamu                           KCC


LEGENDARY 1976 SIDE: Back row L-R: David Otti (Coach), Jimmy Kirunda (captain), Ashe Mukasa, Tom Lwanga, Francis Kulabigwo, Hussein Matovu, Denis Obua and Bidandi Ssali (Team manager). Front row L-R: Phillip Omondi, Stanley Mubiru, Eddie Semwanga, Moses Nsereko and Leo Adraa Chat Conversation End

Theinsider Uganda is a news publishing website. We are located at Suite G25 Metroplex Shopping mall, Naalya Kampala Uganda. info@theinsider.ug
Enter ad code here

Copyright © 2016 Theinsider Uganda. Unearthing the truth

To Top