East Africa

Magufuli says S.Sudan will be admitted in EAC


Tanzania’s President John Pombe Magufuli has confirmed that South Sudan will be included in the East African Community [EAC].

Magufuli made the revelation to Ugandan president, Yoweri Museveni, on Tuesday evening ahead of Wednesday 17 summit of the EAC.

“President Magufuli informed me that South Sudan will be admitted to the EAC as 6th member, during this summit,” Museveni later tweeted on his official handle.

The admission of South Sudan will create a market of 150 million people, regionally.

The East African Community (EAC) is the regional intergovernmental organisation comprising of the Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, Rwanda and Burundi with its headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania.

South Sudan and Somalia recently applied to join the regional bloc.

Magufuli said President Museveni is among the three heads of states who signed the treaty to revive EAC, others having been Arap Moi of Kenya and Benjamin Mkapa of Tanzania.

“I am pleased that President Museveni is still in office to enable the continuity of EAC and boost the activities of the community,” he is quoted by The East African as saying.

South Sudan is represented at the summit by vice president, Iga Wani.  

Theinsider Uganda is a news publishing website. We are located at Suite G25 Metroplex Shopping mall, Naalya Kampala Uganda. info@theinsider.ug
Enter ad code here

Copyright © 2016 Theinsider Uganda. Unearthing the truth

To Top