Lwengo polls: Nkonge beaten, Mutabaazi wins


Presidential advisor on land matters, Sarah Nkonge, was defeated in the race for Lwengo district woman MP seat in yesterday NRM primaries.

Nkonge was beaten by Cissy Namujju who polled 30,521 votes against the former’s 20,938 votes.

Namujju won with a huge difference of over 10,000 votes.

Nkonge had earlier set her eyes on the NRM treasurer in the district which she never got.

Amid teargas and chaotic scenes, Lwengo district NRM party chairman, Hajji Muyanja Mbabali was defeated by a Rtd army Capt, Mulindwa Bilimumaaso.

In the Tuesday by-election which followed the arrest of party electoral officials, George Mutabaazi emerged winner of the NRM flag for the LC5 seat.

Mutabaazi picked 34,467 votes beating his rival David Bbaale Mukasa who got 25,835 votes.

Still in the same district, Abdul Kitatta maintained his grip on Bukoto West Constituency MP NRM flag after picking 8,631votes beating Sadiq Kanyonyi’s 6,530 votes, Joseph Kiberu 5141 votes and Robert Ssenyange got 754 votes.

Sadly, Isaac Ssejoba, the incumbent MP for Bukoto Mid-West was defeated by Joseph Kasozi.

Last month, NRM secretariat called off the elections over ballot stuffing.

Theinsider Uganda is a news publishing website. We are located at Suite G25 Metroplex Shopping mall, Naalya Kampala Uganda.
Enter ad code here

Copyright © 2016 Theinsider Uganda. Unearthing the truth

To Top