Kiir splits S.Sudan into 28 states


President Salva Kiir issued a republican order last evening, splitting the ten states into 28.

In the Equatoria region, the previous three states have been expanded to eight.

In the Bhar al-Ghazal, which had four states, they have been expanded to ten. The Upper region also had its previous three states split into 10.

Announcing the order on the state TV last evening, the president said he took the action to devolve power to the people.

He said this devolution has been delayed since the signing of the CPA.

“This was no because my government and I were not interested in devolving such powers to you, including finances of the country, but my administration in the center was busy with issues connected to your right for self-determination, such that you become free and sovereign state,” he said.

“Now indeed you are free and sovereign state. Therefore, there is no reason for me to retain your constitutional right for self-governance, self-reliance, self-development and determining your future through free, fair, and transparent and democratic elections in three years to come.”

“Now you have the opportunity to develop your locality, home villages, through the mobilization of your local and state resources… There is no any other better time to do this than now”

The leader of the SPLM-IO, Dr Riek Machar, who previously announced 21 states in the country, has described the order as unilateral. He said it is a violation of the peace agreement.

“This Presidential Decree is a violation of the Peace Agreement and is a clear message to the world that President Kiir is not committed to peace,” Dr Lam said in a statement he issued after the order.

Dr Riek also said the states he had announced were based on the colonial borders.

“The twenty one colonial districts have clear delineated borders that were demarcated before 1st January 1956,” he said.

The President said the order shall come into force in 30 working days.

Each state assembly shall have not more than 21 MPs.

The President said he would establish State Border Dispute Resolution Committee to resolve disputes arising in relation to conflict over boundaries.

List of the new states

  1. Imatong State

Torit County

Ikotos County

Lopa County

  1. Lomurnyang State

Kapoeta South County

Kapoeta East County

Kapoeta North County

  1. Maridi State

Maridi County

Iba County

  1. Amadi State

Mundri West County

Mundri East County

Mvolo County

  1. Gbudwe State

Nzara County

Yambio County

Tumbura County

  1. Juba State

Juba County

  1. Terekeka State

Terekeka County

Gemeza County

Tali County

Dijo County

  1. Yei River State

Yei County

Kajo-Keji County

Morobo County

Lainya County

  1. Wau State

Bagari County

Wau County

  1. Aweil State

Aweil South County

Aweil Centre County

  1. Lol State

Aweil West County

Aweil North County

Raga County

  1. Aweil East state

Aweil East County

  1. Twic State

Twic West County

  1. Gogrial State

Gogrial East County

Gogrial West County

  1. Tonj State

Tonj North County

Tonj East County

Tonj South County

  1. Eastern Lake State

Yirol West County

Yirol East County

Awerial County

  1. Western Lake State

Rumbek East County

Rumbek North County

Rumbek Centre County

  1. Gok State

Cueibet County

  1. Northern Liech State

Rubkhona County

Koch County

Mayom County

  1. Southern Liech State

Leer County

Mayendit County

Panyijar County

  1. Ruweng State

Parieng County

Abiemnhom County

  1. Eastern Nile state

Malakal County

Maban County

Pigi County

Baliet County

Melut County

Renk County

  1. Jonglei State

Bor County

Duk County

Twic East County

  1. Western Nile State

Panyikang County

Kodok County

Manyo County

  1. Western Bieh State

Fangak County

Ayod County

  1. East Bieh State

Akobo County

Uror County

Nyirol County

  1. Latjor state

Nasir County

Ulang County

Maiwut County

  1. Boma State

Pochalla County

Pibor County

NC/ Eye radio

Theinsider Uganda is a news publishing website. We are located at Suite G25 Metroplex Shopping mall, Naalya Kampala Uganda.
Enter ad code here

Copyright © 2016 Theinsider Uganda. Unearthing the truth

To Top