East Africa

Kiir signs treaty, S.Sudan joins EAC


South Sudan President Salva Kiir travelled to Tanzania’s commercial capital, Dar es Salaam, where he signed an accession treaty into the East African Community (EAC).

Early last month the EAC heads of state approved the admission of the new country, which is trying to recover from a civil war.

South Sudan becomes the sixth member of the East African Community that was originally formed by Tanzania, Kenya and Uganda.


After joining today, South Sudan is expected to open up its borders for trade as the sixth Partner State of the Economic bloc.

The country now formerly joins Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, Rwanda and Burundi as part of the regional integration projects that have been the subject of discussion among member countries.


The bloc which had is estimated to have a combined population 162 million people and gross domestic product of $147.5 billion — excluding South Sudan – also aspires to adopt a single currency and political federation in the long term.

South Sudan had applied for EAC membership soon after gaining its independence from neighbouring Sudan in 2011, upon being invited by the presidents of Kenya and Rwanda.


Theinsider Uganda is a news publishing website. We are located at Suite G25 Metroplex Shopping mall, Naalya Kampala Uganda. info@theinsider.ug
Enter ad code here

Copyright © 2016 Theinsider Uganda. Unearthing the truth

To Top