South Sudan

Kiir dissolves cabinet, forms unity gov’t


President Salva Kiir has dissolved his cabinet and named appointees for the cabinet of the Transitional Government of National Unity (TGONU).

Announced over state broadcasters, Kiir’s decree appointed ministers to thirty ministries which are split between SPLM, SPLM-IO, SPLM-G10 Former Detainees group, and other political parties.

In a decree read out on state television and radio on Thursday, Kiir said a third of the ministers in the new 30-member “national unity” cabinet were members of the SPLM-IO party led by Kiir’s long-term rival Riek Machar.

Machar only returned to Juba on Tuesday, and was swiftly given back his old job.

“I, President Salva Kiir do hereby issue this … decree for the appointment of ministers of the transitional government of national unity … effect from April 28,” the statement said.

In a sign of lingering violence, the U.N. Mission in South Sudan said one of its compounds in the northern town of Bentiu was attacked with a rocket propelled grenade and gunfire on Monday, damaging a container. It did not name the attacker.

The ministerial appointees are:

Martin Elia Lomoro – Cabinet Affairs
Deng Alor – Foreign Affairs
Kuol Manyang Juuk – Defense and Veteran’s Affairs
Alfred Ladu Gore – Interior
Paolino Wanawille – Justice and Constitutional Affairs
Obutu Mamur Mete – Office of the President for National Security
Peter Bashir Gbandi – Parliamentary Affairs
Michael Makuei Lueth – Information, Communication, Technology, and Postal Service
Richard K Mula – Federal Affairs
Mayiik Ayii Deng – Office of the President
David Deng Athorbei, finance and planning
Dak Doth Bishok, Petroleum
Taban Deng Gai – Mining
Lam Akol Ajawin – Agriculture and Food Security
James Janga Duku – Livestock and Fisheries
Stephen Dhieu Dau – Trade and Industry
Dhieu Mathok Deng – Energy and Dams
John Luk Jok – Transport
Rebecca Joshua Okwaci – Roads and Bridges
Josephine Napwon – Environment and Forestry
Mary Alphonse Nadio Lodira – Land, Housing, and Urban Development
Mabior Garang de Mabior – Water Resources and Irrigation
Jemma Nunu Kumba – Wildlife Conservation and Tourism
Peter Adwok Nyaba – Higher Education, Science, and Technology
Deng Deng Hoc – General Education and Instruction
Riek Gai Kok – Health
Peter Marcello Lasir Jealingo – Labor, Public Service, and Human Resource Development
Awut Deng Acuil – Gender, Child, and Social Welfare
Nadia Arop Dudi – Culture, Youth, and Sports
Hussein Mar Nyot – Humanitarian Affairs and Disaster Management

The following new deputy ministers were also appointed:

Cirino Heteng Ofuho – Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation
David Yau Yau – Defense and Veteran’s Affairs
Gabriel Duop Lam – Interior
Martinson Oturomoi – Justice and Constitutional Affairs
Akol Paul Kordit – Information, Communication, Technology, and Postal Service
Mary Jervas Yak – Finance and Planning
Kornelio Kon Ngu – Agriculture and Food Security
Elizabeth Deng Achuai – Labor, Public Service, and Resource Development

Kiir also appointed a Grade One Ambassador: John Andruga Duku.

Fighting broke out between both men’s supporters in the capital in December 2013 after Kiir sacked Machar as first vice president.

That triggering ethnically charged clashes across the oil-producer that the U.N. says have killed thousands and forced more than 2.3 million to flee.


Theinsider Uganda is a news publishing website. We are located at Suite G25 Metroplex Shopping mall, Naalya Kampala Uganda.
Enter ad code here

Copyright © 2016 Theinsider Uganda. Unearthing the truth

To Top