Special Reports

Katumba, Tumwine, Koreta, Kulaigye voted army MPs


Gen Elly Tumwine, the former Chief of Defence Forces.

Army Generals Gen Katumba Wamala [Chief of Defence Forces], Gen Elly Tumwine have retained their seats as army representatives in parliament.

Others who retained their seats during today’s election held at Bombo barracks include; Col. Innocent Oula and Lakot Susan.

Phinehas Katirima, Sarah Mpambwa Patience, Oketa Julius, Owoyesigire Jim and Lt Gen Charles Angina were dropped.

New comers on the scene include; UPDF chief political commissar Col Felix Kulaigye, Maj Gen Pecos Kutesa, Lt Gen Ivan Koreta, Col Francis Takirwa, Lt Col Flavia Byekwaso and Capt Asimwe Evelyne.

All the contenders were nominated by the defence council chaired by the Commander-in-Chief, Gen Yoweri Museveni.

According to some of the results we got; Lt Col Flavia Byekwaso won with 243 votes.

Takirwa got 135 votes, Pecos Kutesa 127 votes, Oula 105 votes, Elly Tumwine 105 votes, Katumba 256 votes, Koreta 195 votes and Kulaigye 167 votes.

Theinsider Uganda is a news publishing website. We are located at Suite G25 Metroplex Shopping mall, Naalya Kampala Uganda. info@theinsider.ug
Enter ad code here

Copyright © 2016 Theinsider Uganda. Unearthing the truth

To Top