Kasule: 17 ministers losing is democracy


The ruling National Resistance Movement [NRM] party secretary general, Kasule Lumumba, says the evidence of democracy in Uganda can be seen from ministers losing their parliamentary seats.

A total of 17 ministers lost their seats in the just concluded presidential and parliamentary elections.

They are; Education Minister Jessica Alupo, Alex Onzima, Information Minister Jim Muhwezi, Asuman Kiyingi, Justice Minister Otafiire Kahinda, Attorney General Fred Ruhindi, Henry Banyenzaki, Energy Minister Irene Muloni, Barbara Nekesa, Defence minister Crispus Kiyonga, Internal Affairs minister, Rose Akol, Sarah Kataike, Rukia Nakadama, Rebecca Otengo and Fred Omach.

“That is democracy,” Lumumba described the disaster.

“When you go into an election, there is a winner and loser. There is nothing in between,” she maintained.

Lumumba was however consoled by the fact that it was not only the ruling party that lost senior members but even the opposition.

The Leader of Opposition in Parliament Wafula Oguttu, FDC Secretary General Alice Alaso, Leader of Independents in Parliament Sam Otada and Jack Sabiiti, all lost their seats in Parliament.

“We are in a democracy. It is the people, the ordinary people, the voters who decide who should lead them. The people have decided and they have voted.”

Lumumba said even opposition leader, Kizza Besigye won in some places and lost in others.

“We didn’t win in every place,” she said.

Theinsider Uganda is a news publishing website. We are located at Suite G25 Metroplex Shopping mall, Naalya Kampala Uganda. info@theinsider.ug
Enter ad code here

Copyright © 2016 Theinsider Uganda. Unearthing the truth

To Top