Kajura 81, protests defeat, cries to Tanga  

Kajura while casting his vote (2)

Kajura while casting his vote

The first deputy Prime Minister and Minister Public services cum Hoima Municipal Member of Parliament, Henry Muganwa Kajura, has petitioned the Chairman NRM electoral Commission, Tanga Odoi, protesting his defeat.

The development comes after Kajura who is also the Hoima district NRM Chairperson lost his seat that he took over in 2011 to Dr. Lawrence Bategeka by close to 7000 votes in the NRM primaries that were held last week.

According to results declared by the deputy Hoima district NRM Registrar, Maureen Businge, in presence of four Kyadondo NRM Electoral Commission officials headed by Dixon Kamukama, the election Monitor and Hoima district Resident district Commissioner Isaac Kawoya, Bategeka thumped Kajura with 12,932 votes to 5,755 votes.

Hamu Mugenyi was second runner up with 765votes while Kato got 299 votes.

However, Kajura protested against results saying that election were married with a lot of irregularities.

Shaban Kwebiiha, Kajura’s political assistant says the Minister had already lodged in his petition demanding for the cancelation of Bategeka’s victory.

Kwebiiha alleges that the Minister could not concede the defeat because there were a lot of irregularities that was observed during elections such as bribing voters, names of voters were missing in the register and intimidation of voters.

Micheal Chris Ayeranga, a right hand man to Kajura added that the Minister had already picked nomination forms to stand against flag bearer Bategeka on an independent ticket.

Kwebiiha denied Ayeranga’s claims.

“What I know is that the Minister petitioned protesting against his defeat but the issue of picking nomination forms to stand as independent… am not aware of it.”

Kajura 81, one of the longest serving legislators has been a Cabinet minister since 1989.

Defending his decision to contest for the Hoima Municipality seat, Kajura, who is also the NRM district said he was under pressure to contest again.

He adds on to the long list of ministers and Members of Parliament who have lost the NRM primaries in the recent election.

Theinsider Uganda is a news publishing website. We are located at Suite G25 Metroplex Shopping mall, Naalya Kampala Uganda.
Enter ad code here

Copyright © 2016 Theinsider Uganda. Unearthing the truth

To Top