Kadaga to dissolve 9th parliament next week

The Speaker of parliament will dissolve the Ninth Parliament on Wednesday, 11th May 2016.

Rt.Hon. Rebecca Kadaga told the House on Thursday, 05th May 2016 that the Ninth Parliament will cease at the close of business on that Wednesday.

“I will dissolve the House. So if government has urgent business between now and next week, please present it,” she said.

The Ninth Parliament started in May 2011 with the swearing in of Members of Parliament and this culminated into the election of the Speaker and Deputy Speaker respectively on 19th May 2011.

There were 386 Members of Parliament in the Ninth Parliament.

The National Resistance Movement party had the majority with the Forum Democratic Change being the party in opposition with the highest numbers of MPs.

The Members –Elect of the 10th Parliament will be sworn in on the 16th, 17th and 18th May 2016. The new Parliament will be made up of 426 MPs.

This number will however increase in July of the next three years with the coming into effect of new districts.

Theinsider Uganda is a news publishing website. We are located at Suite G25 Metroplex Shopping mall, Naalya Kampala Uganda. info@theinsider.ug
Enter ad code here

Copyright © 2016 Theinsider Uganda. Unearthing the truth

To Top