Gov’t appoints new board at National theatre


The Uganda National Theatre


Cabinet has approved the appointment of the board of trustees for the Uganda National Cultural Centre commonly known as National Theatre.

The Uganda National Cultural Centre was established by an Act of Parliament in 1959.

Officially inaugurated on December2, 1959 the Centre was charged with providing and establishing theatres and cultural centres in the country, encouraging and developing cultural and artistic activities, and providing a home to societies, groups and organisations that deal in art, culture and entertainment.

Section 3 of the Uganda National Cultural Centre Act (amended 1965), established the National Cultural Centre Trust to incorporate the Trustees thereof.

The Trust is responsible for administering, controlling and managing the Trust’s property in accordance with the Act.

Section 4 of the Act provides for the Board of Trustees of the Uganda National Cultural Centre as an oversight body for the Centre activities.

The Act provides for not less than six (6) and not more than Eight (8) Trustees.

Each Trustee shall hold office for a period of three years and shall be eligible for re-appointment.

The Board, whose term expired last month (March 2015), served for two terms of three years each 2009-2012 and 2012-2014.

According to the minister of Information and National Guidance, Jim Muhwezi, Cabinet has, therefore, approved the persons proposed for appointment to the Board of Trustees for the Uganda National Cultural Centre as follows:-

  2. Dr Micheal Odong Chairperson
  3. Mr Sam Okello kelo Member
  4. Mr Kiyimba Musisi Member
  5. Mr Usher Wilson Owere Member
  6. Ms Juliet Kyobutungi Member
  7. Ms Cissy Mbabazi Member
  8. Mr Edson Ngirabakunzi Member
  9. Ms Naumo Juliana Kuruhiira Member

Theinsider Uganda is a news publishing website. We are located at Suite G25 Metroplex Shopping mall, Naalya Kampala Uganda. info@theinsider.ug
Enter ad code here

Copyright © 2016 Theinsider Uganda. Unearthing the truth

To Top