Gen Oketta out as army votes new MPs


Maj. Gen. Julius Facki Oketta will not be part of those who vie to represent Uganda People’s Defence Forces in parliament during the 2016 army parliamentary elections.

UPDF will elect parliamentary army representatives today at Bombo Barracks.

The commander-in-chief, Gen Kaguta Museveni, will be presiding over process.

The election of the 10 UPDF parliamentary representatives was postponed from yesterday because Museveni was still in Arusha Tanzania attending the 17 EAC Summit.

Meanwhile, Maj Oketta will not be part of those who vie to return to parliament.

Sources say he is joining Operation Wealth Creation [OWC], an agriculture endeavour started by the army in 2014.

Last year, the Constitutional Court declared that the presence of representatives of the army in parliament was illegal and sought to throw them out.

Article 78(1) of the 1995 Constitution prescribes the composition of Parliament including such numbers of representatives of the army, youth, workers, persons with disabilities and other groups as Parliament may determine.

UPDF is represented by ten members in Parliament including; Chief of Defence Forces, Gen Katumba Wamala,  Phinehas Katirima, Lakot Susan , Sarah Mpambwa Patience, Col. Innocent Oula, who replaced Gen. David Sejusa, Oketa Julius, Owoyesigire Jim, Lt Gen Charles Angina, Gen Elly Tumwine and the late Internal Affairs minister, Aronda Nyakairima.

These are set to be replaced or voted back in parliament today, Friday.



Theinsider Uganda is a news publishing website. We are located at Suite G25 Metroplex Shopping mall, Naalya Kampala Uganda. info@theinsider.ug
Enter ad code here

Copyright © 2016 Theinsider Uganda. Unearthing the truth

To Top