Gen Katumba, army MPs take oath


The Chief of Defence Forces General Katumba Wamala on Tuesday took oath as a member of the 10th Parliament.

He is among the small group of Members voted to represent the army in Parliament in March this year and he has been a UPDF MP in the past while serving as CDF.

Others representing the army are; Gen Elly Tumwine, Col. Innocent Oula, Lakot Susan, UPDF chief political commissar Col Felix Kulaigye, Maj Gen Pecos Kutesa, Lt Gen Ivan Koreta, Col Francis Takirwa, Lt Col Flavia Byekwaso and Capt Asimwe Evelyne.

Capt Asiimwe Everlyne took her oath of allegiance at the southern wing of Parliament today.

Capt Lakot Susan, Maj Gen Kuteesa Pecos Onesmus, LT Gen Ivan Koreta and Col Felix Kulaigye were all sworn in Tuesday as UPDF representatives to Parliament.

Gen Katumba has the highest military rank in the Uganda People’s Defense Force (UPDF).

Prior to his current position, he served as Commander of Land Forces in the UPDF from 2005 to 2013.

He also served as the Inspector General of Police (IGP) of the Uganda Police Force, the highest rank in that branch of Uganda’s government, from 2001 until 2005.

He was replaced as IGP by General Kale Kayihura.

Katumba Wamala was the first active UPDF soldier to serve as the head of the Uganda Police Force.


Capt Asiimwe


Gen Kutesa arrives for oath taking


Theinsider Uganda is a news publishing website. We are located at Suite G25 Metroplex Shopping mall, Naalya Kampala Uganda. info@theinsider.ug
Enter ad code here

Copyright © 2016 Theinsider Uganda. Unearthing the truth

To Top