FDC’s Kizza on committee to vet ministers


Parliament Wednesday constituted the Appointments Committee that will vet nominees for ministerial positions next week.

The Committee, which is chaired by the Speaker, is responsible for approving on behalf of Parliament, the appointment of persons nominated by the President under the Constitution.

The Deputy Speaker Rt. Hon. Jacob Oulanyah and Leader of the Opposition Hon. Winifred Kiiza will also sit on the Committee.

The Clerk to Parliament, Mrs. Jane Lubowa Kibirige, on Tuesday 7 June 2016, said that Parliament had received formal communication about the appointments from the President.

On Monday, President Museveni re-appointed Hon. Edward Ssekandi as Vice President and Dr. Ruhakana Rugunda as Prime Minister and appointed over 70 members to Cabinet.

“We have started the process of communicating to the nominees,” said Mrs. Kibirige, adding that “the Appointments Committee will sit starting on Tuesday, 14 June, 2016 (and) may take a number of days.”

The Committee comprises 13 MPs from the NRM, the party in government, including Arinaitwe Rwakajara (Workers), Moses Balyeku (Jinja Municipality West), Hellen Adoa (Serere district), Robinah Rwakoojo (Gomba West) and Hellen Asamo (PWDs, East). Others are Henry Makumbi (Mityana South), Janet Okorimore (Abim), Beatrice Rwakimari (Ntungamo district), Oscar Omony (Youth, Northern) and Apollo Yeri (Tororo Municipality).

Also from NRM are Rukia Chekamondo (Kapchorwa district), Ashraf Olega (Aringa) and Oketayot Lowila (Pader district).

The UPDF selected Gen. Elly Tumwine (UPDF), while Maragaret Rwabushaija (Workers) and Hebert Kinobere (Kibuku) represent the Independents.

Party Whips Joseph Ssewungu (DP, Kalungu West), Santa Alum (UPC, Oyam district); and FDC’s Betty Aol (Gulu district), Francis Mwijukye (Buhweju) will also sit on the Committee on Appointments.

Parliament sitting Wednesday 8 June 2016 considered and approved H.E Edward Ssekandi as Vice President and is yet to approve Dr. Rugunda as Prime Minister, who is out of the country on official duty.

Meanwhile the Speaker of Parliament has announced Kasese district MP, Hon. Winnie Kiiza and Hon. Ibrahim Ssemujju Nganda as Leader of the Opposition and Opposition Chief Whip respectively.

The Speaker last week rejected the initial appointments as the persons had been referred to as Minority Leader and Chief Whip respectively.

“We congratulate them and wish them well,” Kadaga said.

Theinsider Uganda is a news publishing website. We are located at Suite G25 Metroplex Shopping mall, Naalya Kampala Uganda. info@theinsider.ug
Enter ad code here

Copyright © 2016 Theinsider Uganda. Unearthing the truth

To Top