FDC voting new leaders ahead of 2016


Alice Alaso, FDC SG


The road to the 2016 elections will kick off in the opposition Forum for Democratic Change (FDC) party beginning April 15, with elections for constituting party structures that will in turn form a delegate’s conference to elect a new National Executive Committee (NEC).

All National Executive Committee(NEC) offices- are up for grabs save for the party presidency as Major General (rtd)Mugisha Muntu’s term expires in 2017-having  been elected in 2012.

The term of office of the FDC NEC expired in February 2013 but no fresh elections have been held due to resource constraints and internal disagreements.

Another delegate’s conference will also convene on a yet-to-be decided date to elect a presidential flag bearer, according to Alice Alaso, the Forum for Democratic Change Secretary General.

Elections will begin from the village, parish, sub-county, county up to district levels.

Key among the posts to be filled at these levels are: treasurer, general secretary, secretary for information and publicity and Secretary for mobilization and election.

The Forum for Democratic Change party delegates conference in December last year voted to shift from the polling area branch system – where the local structure was built around the polling stations – to a new system where structures are built in line with villages-as part of a wider strategy to strengthen the local bases.

In a telephone interview with Uganda Radio Network, Alaso indicated that the sole requirement for voting will be possession of the FDC party card.

“That [the card] is the proof that you are a member. It is constitutional proof; membership is possession of an up to-date card. How can you be a party member if you cannot have a card of 1000 Shillings? After the party structures, we will elect the NEC,”Alaso said.

“We have not yet set a date because the delegates conference [[to elect the National Executive Committee] is dependent on the success of the party primaries,”Alaso added.

According to the road map sent to party officials, between April 15-22, elections will begin in the Teso sub-region.

Bukedi, Rwenzori and West Nile sub-regions will also hold elections during the same period.

Western Uganda will follow with elections in the West Ankole districts of Ntugamo, Bushenyi, Buhweju, Rubirizi, Mitooma and Sheema between 29th April-6th May.

East Ankole taking Mbarara, Ibanda,Kiruhura and Isingiro will also conduct the same period.
Bunyoro and Tooro regions will also conduct polls during the same period.

Buganda region will also vote during the last months of April period while Kampala (taking the five divisions) votes between May 10- May 17.

Elections in the Sebei, Acholi and Karamoja sub-regions will be conducted from the 10th-17th May.


Theinsider Uganda is a news publishing website. We are located at Suite G25 Metroplex Shopping mall, Naalya Kampala Uganda.
Enter ad code here

Copyright © 2016 Theinsider Uganda. Unearthing the truth

To Top