EC bans Amama Tooro trail


Amama tried to address fans at Kyankwanzi

Police on Monday blocked Amama Mbabazi from addressing his supporters in Kyankwanzi along Hoima road.

Amama was going to Hoima town where he will address a rally today.

On his way, Amama made quick stop overs at Lwamata and then at Kyankwanzi where supporters asked that he addresses them.

Police however swung into action and disrupted the address.

The incident came at the same time the electoral commission spokesperson, Jotham Taremwa, says Amama western Ugandan campaigns are not allowed.

Taremwa said in a social media message that they expected Mbabazi in northern and not western Uganda.

“This is to notify the Organizing Committees and members of the Public in Gulu and Lira Districts that the campaign rally of the TDA(U) | Go Forward which were scheduled for Tuesday, November 17th and Wednesday, November 18th, 2015 have been respectively postponed to November 24th and 25th, 2015,” reads a supposed JPAM communication to his team in northern Uganda.

The postponement of the events, according to the communication, were made in consultation with the Independent Electoral Commission to enable the candidate have a smooth rally, without interference with other related IEC activities.

“We have not allowed that programme. He should first write to us,” Taremwa said.

Amama over the weekend changed the programme for his campaigns.

“Over the next two weeks our campaign routes will change as follows – Monday 16th Nov – Hoima, Tuesday 17th Nov – Kabarole,” his team said.

“Sunday 22nd Nov – Kampala (Manifesto Launch), Monday 23rd Nov – Arua, Tues 24th Nov – Gulu, Wed 25th Nov – Lira.”

“Wednesday 18th Nov – Kasese, Thursday 19th Nov – Kanungu, Friday 20th Nov – Bushenyi, Saturday 21st Nov – Mbarara.”

“Thursday 26th Nov – Mpigi, Friday  26th & Saturday 28th Nov – Free Days (Pope’s  Visit), Sunday 29th Nov – Pallisa.”

The team said it was working with the teams on ground to book venues for each of these locations promising to send a formal letter to EC on Monday morning.

“JPAM’s change of campaign program has not been approved by the Commission,” EC spokesperson said this afternoon.

Taremwa says he should first write to them and wait for a reply not just inform them.

Meanwhile, Amama has already arrived at Booma grounds in Hoima town for his rally.

Theinsider Uganda is a news publishing website. We are located at Suite G25 Metroplex Shopping mall, Naalya Kampala Uganda.
Enter ad code here

Copyright © 2016 Theinsider Uganda. Unearthing the truth

To Top