East Africa

EAC retains Magufuli as chair, replaces Sezibera


EAC leaders at the summit

Heads of State and government who attended the 17th EAC Summit in Arusha, Tanzania.

The Summit was chaired by President of Tanzania Dr. John Magufuli.

Other president’s present included; Uganda’s Yoweri Museveni and Paul Kagame of Rwanda and President Uhuru Kenyatta.

Burundi and South Sudan sent representatives.

During the summit, South Sudan was admitted as the newest member of the East African Community.

Regional leaders also resolved to extend the bloc’s chairmanship of President John Magufuli by one year.

Burundi’s Liberat Mfumukeko was sworn in as the new Secretary General taking over from Richard Sezibera whose 5-year tenure expire in April this year.

The EAC Heads of State also launched the new international East African E-passport to commence from 1st January 2017.

Theinsider Uganda is a news publishing website. We are located at Suite G25 Metroplex Shopping mall, Naalya Kampala Uganda. info@theinsider.ug
Enter ad code here

Copyright © 2016 Theinsider Uganda. Unearthing the truth

To Top