Cecafa: Cranes beats Burundi, dates Malawi


Uganda in action

Second half substitute, Frank Kalanda scored Uganda Cranes’ only goal as the record CECAFA winners overcame a hard fighting Burundi at the Awassa International stadium in Ethiopia on Saturday.

This was during the final group B match of the tournament that witnessed Uganda qualify to the last 8 stage as group B winners on six points.

Kalanda’s beautiful strike was set up by team skipper, Faruku Miya.

Later in the game, Kalanda missed doubling Uganda’s advantage when he failed to capitalize on fellow second half substitute, Isaac Muleme’s well laid cross from the left.

Changes for Uganda:

Isaac Muleme replaced Erisa Ssekisambu at the start of the second half, goal hero Frank Kalanda came in for Muzamiru Mutyaba and right back, Denis Okot was called upon to take the place of striker  Ceaser Okhuti within the last five minutes of the game.

Uganda tops group B on six points and progresses to the quarter finals with a quest for the 14th CECAFA title well in sight.

Uganda Cranes Team line up:

Mathias Kigonya (Goal Keeper), Joseph Nsubuga, Joseph Ochaya, Richard Kasagga Jjuuko, Murushid Juuko, Ivan Ntege, Benard Muwanga, Erisa Ssekisambu, Muzamiru Mutyaba, Farouk Miya (Captain), Ceaser Okhuti


Erisa Ssekisambu Out for Isaac Muleme, Muzamiru Mutyaba Out for Frank Kalanda and Denis Okot in for Ceaser Okhuti.

Subs Not Used:

Ismail Watenga (Goal Keeper), Shafiq Bakaki, Kezironi Kizito and Nelson Senkatuka,

Quarter-finals start Monday

Uganda Cranes will play the 2015 CECAFA senior challenge cup guest team, Malawi Flames in the quarter finals on Monday, December 30, 2015.

Uganda progressed top of group B after overcoming Burundi in the last group fixture played at the Awassa stadium and will meet Malawi at the last eight stage.

Uganda Cranes open the quarter final menu on Monday before hosts Ethiopia entertain Ethiopia again.

On Tuesday, it will be a battle for the two Sudan brothers, South Sudan taking on Sudan in the first match.

The last quarter final match will see the defending champions, Kenya entertain Rwanda.

Uganda has won the tournament a record 13 times.


Theinsider Uganda is a news publishing website. We are located at Suite G25 Metroplex Shopping mall, Naalya Kampala Uganda.
Enter ad code here

Copyright © 2016 Theinsider Uganda. Unearthing the truth

To Top