Health & Fitness

Cabinet approves new health service commission


Cabinet has approved Members to serve on the Health Service Commission.

Jim K. Muhwezi, the Minister of Information and National Guidance says this is in accordance with Article 169 of the Constitution under which the Commission is established.

The Article (169) provides that: “The commission shall consist of a chairperson and six other members, at least three of whom shall be persons who have substantial experience in health science, all of whom shall be appointed by the President with the approval of parliament” and that, “A member of the Commission shall hold office for four years but is eligible for reappointment”.

“Cabinet has, therefore, approved the following persons to serve as Chairperson, Deputy Chairperson and Members of the Health Service Commission for a four-year term,” Muhwezi said in a statement.

They include; Prof. Pius Okong – Chairperson, Dr. Christine Mwebesa – Deputy Chairperson, Mrs. Irene Akena – Member, Prof. Medi Kawuma – Member, Mr. Seale Anabo Anguma – Member, Dr. Apollo Karugaba – Member and Ms. Atala Ruth Frances – Member.

Upon assuming office, these individuals are expected to support government efforts towards revamping Uganda’s health sector, by selecting and deploying competent personnel to serve in health facilities throughout the country.

Muhwezi says the members’ names have been submitted to H.E the President for issuance of the formal instruments of appointment.


Theinsider Uganda is a news publishing website. We are located at Suite G25 Metroplex Shopping mall, Naalya Kampala Uganda.
Enter ad code here

Copyright © 2016 Theinsider Uganda. Unearthing the truth

To Top