Besigye names cabinet ministers for unity gov’t

Incarcerated Ugandan opposition leader Col. Dr. Kizza Besigye has named a cabinet with which he intends to lead a government of national unity.

The Forum for Democratic Change presidential candidate took oath as a people’s president on May 11, 2016 in Kampala, a day before President Yoweri Museveni was sworn in at Kololo Independence Grounds.

Besigye beat police surveillance at his home in Kasangati to storm down town Kampala where he was sworn in, according to a YouTube video of the ceremony circulated by FDC.

After the said ceremony, Besigye addressed crowds down town Kampala as the “new president of Uganda” promising to establish a transitional government of national unity.

He was arrested, detained at Moroto police station, charged with treason at Moroto Chief Magistrates Court, remanded to Moroto government prison before being transferred to Luzira prisons where he will stay until June 1.


Following the drama of the swearing in ceremony which critics labelled a comic strip, Besigye has now released names of opposition leaders who will serve as his cabinet ministers.

His cabinet took the shape of three clusters: Economic Productivity and Jobs Growth; Public Service Delivery, Quality Assurance and Human Capital Development and Defense, National Security, Law and Order.

b bb bbb bbbb bbbbb

The pro-people cabinet cuts out presidential advisors and Residential District Commissioners.

According to the document, Besigye names 36 ministers in total [18 ministers with their 18 deputies].

FDC national chairman Ambassador Wasswa Biriggwa serves as Besigye’s vice president while Kamuli district FDC chairperson Proscovia Salaamu Musumba serves as a Prime Minister.

FDC party president Mugisha Muntu is not part of the cabinet as he opted to only remain the president of the party.

Besigye best ally in Kampala, Lord Mayor Erias Lukwago also opted to stay the head of Kampala city.

List of full ministers:

Wadri Kassiano Ezati is the minister for Land, Housing and Physical Planning.

Chapaa Karuhanga is minister for Oil and Energy Resources Development.

Kevinah Taaka is minister for Gender, Labour and Social Affairs.

Out-going Leader of Opposition Wafula Oguttu is minister for Presidency and Government Reform.

Paga Gloria is minister for Youth Sports and preforming Arts.

Bua Dinah is minister for Water, Forestry and Environment.

Ingrid Turinawe is the minister for Internal Affairs.

Medard Lubega Ssegona is the minister for Justice and Attorney General.

Nathan Nadala Mafabi is minister for Finance, Planning and Economic Development.

Winnie Kiiza is minister for Agriculture, Animal Industry and Fisheries.

Ibrahim Ssemujju Nganda is minister for Information and Communication Technologies.

Mathias Mpuuga is the minister of Health and Nutrition.

Jack Sabiiti is minister for Trade, Cooperatives, Industry and Tourism.

Amuriat Patrick Oboi is minister of Works and Transport.

Joyce Nabossa Sebugwawo is minister for Federal, Regional and Local Governments.

Ocan Betty is minister for Education, Science and Technology.

Geoffrey Ekanya is minister for Foreign Affairs.

Minister of Defence and National Security post is still vacant.

Theinsider Uganda is a news publishing website. We are located at Suite G25 Metroplex Shopping mall, Naalya Kampala Uganda. info@theinsider.ug
Enter ad code here

Copyright © 2016 Theinsider Uganda. Unearthing the truth

To Top