Airtel Fufa awards moved to Sunday


The Local Organising Committee of the 2015 Airtel FUFA Awards has extended the ceremony by two days to Sunday 13th December, 2015 but the venue-Speke Resort Munyonyo has been maintained.

“The earlier date of 11th December 2015 was changed to allow clubs and Uganda Premier League Secretariat have smooth operations of the league engagements allocated for that day,” said FUFA Spokesperson Ahmed Hussein who confirmed the development.

Hussein added: “We have invited 300 guests for the football night to witness the crowning of the best in Ugandan football.”

The function will start at 5pm.


The FUFA Awards launched on Tuesday 6th October, 2015 at Serena Hotel are aimed at honouring the excellence for Ugandan footballers.

The theme for the Awards is ‘Celebrating Uganda’s Finest Footballers

World over footballers are idolised as they play a key role in bringing fans to the stadia and entertaining their followers with different skills.

A big night awaits the most excelling footballers of the year 2015 when the local football fraternity gathers and experiences the epitome and ambiance of Speke Resort Munyonyo on Sunday 13th December, 2015 to crown Uganda’s best in the Male and Female categories.

The 300 guest event will start at 5pm.

Sponsors and Partners

Airtel Uganda are the Official Sponsors of the 2015 FUFA Awards and here after called “The Airtel FUFA Awards”.

Pepsi, UBC, Azam Tv, Nile Special, NIC, Brand Vision and have already come aboard to finance the event.

The 5 fans who send the most number of SMS messages to vote in any of the 4 categories will be rewarded with attending the Special Night and also free access to the Uganda Cranes matches for a year while the one with the most messages sent will also win a fully paid-up trip to travel with the Uganda Cranes on an away trip.


Category 1: Airtel-FUFA Male Player of the Year

Keziron Kizito: Fans will send SMS by typing “FUFA 20” and send to 6669 for Keziron Kizito.

Faruku Miya: Fans will send SMS by typing “FUFA 10” and send to 6669 for Farouk Miya.

Yasser Mugerwa: Fans will send SMS by typing “FUFA 30” and send to 6669 for Yasser Mugerwa.


Category 2: FUFA Female player of the year:

Nabweteme Sandra: Fans will send SMS by typing “FUFA 50” and send to 6669 for Nabweteme Sandra.

Nasuuna Hasifah: Fans will send SMS by typing “FUFA 60” and send to 6669 for Nasuuna Hasifah.

Babirye Winnie: Fans will send SMS by typing “FUFA 70” and send to 6669 for Babirye Winnie.

Category 3: Fans’ Favourite player (Ugandan player)

Fans will send SMS by typing “FANUG PlayerName” and send to 6669 where player shall be the name of the player.

Category 4: Fans Favourite player in European Leagues

This award will also be determined by the fans.

This is not limited to any nationality inclusive of Ugandans meaning any player in any club in Europe may be voted.

Voting Criteria: Fans will send SMS by typing “FANS ClubName PlayerName” and send to 6669 where player shall be the name of the player.

Categories of Airtel FUFA Awards:

  • Male player of the year
  • Female player of the year
  • FUFA Best XI
  • FUFA Presidential Award
  • Fair play award
  • Upcoming Talent
  • Referee of the year
  • Coach of the year
  • Fans Favourite player 2014/15 (Ugandan player)
  • Beach Soccer player of the year
  • Fans’ Favourite player in the European leagues


Theinsider Uganda is a news publishing website. We are located at Suite G25 Metroplex Shopping mall, Naalya Kampala Uganda.
Enter ad code here

Copyright © 2016 Theinsider Uganda. Unearthing the truth

To Top