17 ministers ejected as Ssekandi survives

VP Edward Ssekandi [Bukedde photo]

VP Edward Ssekandi [Bukedde photo]

So far 17 Ugandan ministers have been defeated in polls and kicked out of Parliament, according to provisional results.

New Vision lists them as: Fred Ruhindi (Attorney General), Vincent Nyanzi (state minister in the office of the Vice President) Jessica Alupo (Education), Rose Akol (internal affairs), Kamanda Bataringaya (state minister for labour), Kahinda Otafiire (justice and constitutional affairs) and Rukiah Nakadama (state minister for gender).

Defence minister Dr. Crispus Kiyonga was defeated but controversially declared winner without results.

Flavia Munaba (state minister for environment), Irene Muloni (energy and mineral development) Michael Werikhe (state minister for trade), Asuman Kiyingi (state minister for regional affairs) Rebeca Otengo (state minister for northern Uganda), Alex Onzima (state minister for local government), Nekesa Oundo (state minister for Karamoja affairs, Henry Banyenzaki (state minister for economic monitoring and Fred Omach (state minister for finance), have all been kicked out.

Ssekandi wins

Vice President Edward Ssekandi retained his Bukoto Central seat after defeating DP’s Joseph Batemyeto.

Ssekandi got 12,000 votes, while Batemyetto picked 6,679 votes.

Ssekandi is the only NRM candidate to have survived in Masaka district.

According to Daily Monitor, other NRM candidates suffered miserable defeats at the hands of Democratic Party candidates.

Matthias Mpuuga and Ms Florence Namayanja took Masaka Municipality seat and Bukoto East parliamentary seats respectively.

According to Masaka District Returning Officer Nathan Nabasa, Mpuuga picked 17,319 while NRM’s Herman Ssentongo got 14,586 votes.

In Bukoto East, Namayanja beat NRM’s Abdullah Nkoyoyo with 16,168 votes against 15,775 votes.

DP’s Mary Babirye Kabanda picked the Masaka District Woman MP seat from NRM’s Freda Kasse Mubanda.

In Bukoto South, NRM’s Muhammad Mbabaali beat DP party Secretary General Mathias Nsubuga by 14,410 votes against 6,296 votes.

Forum for Democratic Change [FDC] Richard Muyomba picked 935 votes beating Raymond Ssebugwawo of Go Forward [135 votes].

Deogratius Kiyingi and Veronica Nanyondo, a sister to the late MP Suzan Namaganda, took Bukomansimbi South constituency and the district woman MP seats respectively.

Theinsider Uganda is a news publishing website. We are located at Suite G25 Metroplex Shopping mall, Naalya Kampala Uganda. info@theinsider.ug
Enter ad code here

Copyright © 2016 Theinsider Uganda. Unearthing the truth

To Top